Past Results


The Early Years

1927 Worcester Country Club, Worcester, Massachusetts

9½ Walter Hagen USA Captain

2½ Ted Ray GB Captain

1929 Moortown Golf Club, Leeds, England

5 Walter Hagen USA Captain

7 George Duncan GB Captain

1931 Scioto Country Club, Columbus, Ohio

9 Walter Hagen USA Captain

3 Charles Whitcombe GB Captain

1933 Southport and Ainsdale Golf Club, Southport, England

5½ Walter Hagen USA Captain

6½ JH Taylor GB Captain

The Influential Years

1947 Portland Golf Club, Portland, Oregon

11 Ben Hogan USA Captain

1 Henry Cotton GB Captain

1949 Ganton Golf Club, Scarborough, England

7 Ben Hogan USA Captain

5 Charles Whitcombe GB Captain

1951 Pinehurst Resort, Pinehurst, North Carolina

9½ Sam Snead USA Captain

2½ Arthur Lacey GB Captain

1953 Wentworth Golf Club, Wentworth, England

6½ Lloyd Mangrum USA Captain

5½ Henry Cotton GB Captain

1955 Thunderbird Golf & Country Club, Palm Springs, California

8 Chick Habert USA Captain

4 Dai Rees GB Captain

1957 Lindrick Golf Club, Yorkshire, England

4½ Jack Burke USA Captain

7½ Dai Rees GB Captain

1959 Eldorado Country Club, Palm Desert, California

8½ Sam Snead USA Captain

3½ Dai Rees GB Captain

1961 Royal Lytham & St. Annes, St. Annes, England

14½ Jerry Barber USA Captain

9½ Dai Rees GB Captain

1963 East Lake Golf Club, Atlanta, Georgia

23 Arnold Palmer USA Captain

9 John Fallon GB Captain

1965 Royal Birkdale Golf Club, Southport, England

19½ Byron Nelson USA Captain

12½ Harry Weetman GB Captain

1967 Champions Golf Club, Houston, Texas

23½ Ben Hogan USA Captain

8½ Dai Rees GB Captain

America Rules

1969 Royal Birkdale Golf Club, Southport, England

16 Sam Snead USA Captain

16 Eric Brown GB Captain

1971 Old Warson Country Club, St. Louis, Missouri

18½ Jay Hebert USA Captain

13½ Eric Brown GB Captain

1973 Muirfield Golf Club, Muirfield, Scotland

19 Jack Burke USA Captain

13 Bernard Hunt GB & I Captain

1975 Laurel Valley Golf Club, Ligonier, Pennsylvania

21 Arnold Palmer USA Captain

11 Bernard Hunt GB & I Captain

1977 Royal Lytham & St. Annes, St. Annes, England

12½ Dow Finsterwald USA Captain

7½ Brian Huggett GB & I Captain

1979 The Greenbrier, White Sulphur Springs, West Virginia

17 Billy Casper USA Captain

11 John Jacobs Europe Captain

1981 Walton Heath Golf Club, Surrey, England

18½ Billy Casper USA Captain

9½ John Jacobs Europe Captain

1983 PGA National, Palm Beach Garedns, Florida

14½ Jack Nicklaus USA Captain

13½ Tony Jacklin Europe Captain

1985 The Belfry, Sutton Coldfield, England

11½ Lee Trevino USA Captain

16½ Tony Jacklin Europe Captain

1987 Muirfield Village Golf Club, Dublin, Ohio

13 Jack Nicklaus USA Captain

15 Tony Jacklin Europe Captain

1989 The Belfry, Sutton Coldfield, England

14 Raymond Floyd USA Captain

14 Tony Jacklin Europe Captain

1991 Kiawah Island Golf Resort, Kiawah Island, South Carolina

14½ Dave Stockton USA Captain

13½ Bernard Gallacher Europe Captain

1993 The Belfry, Sutton Coldfield, England

15 Tom Watson USA Captain

13 Bernard Gallacher Europe Captain

1995 Oak Hill Country Club, Rochester, New York

13½ Lanny Wadkins USA Captain

14½ Bernard Gallacher Europe Captain

1997 Valderrama Golf Club, Sotogrande, Spain

13½ Tom Kite USA Captain

14½ Seve Ballesteros Europe Captain

1999 The Country Club, Brookline, Massachusetts

14½ Ben Crenshaw USA Captain

13½ Mark James Europe Captain

2002 The Belfry, Sutton Coldfield, England

12½ Curtis Strange USA Captain

15½ Sam Torrance Europe Captain

2004 Oakland Hills Golf Club, Bloomfield Township, Michigan

9½ Hal Sutton USA Captain

18½ Bernhard Langer Europe Captain

2006 The K Club, Straffan, Ireland

9½ Tom Lehman USA Captain

18½ Ian Woosnam Europe Captain

2008 Valhalla Golf Club, Louisville, Kentucky

16½ Paul Azinger USA Captain

11½ Nick Faldo Europe Captain

2010 Celtic Manor Resort, Southport, Wales

13½ Corey Pavin USA Captain

14½ Colin Montgomerie Europe Captain

2012 Medinah Country Club, Medinah, Illinois

13½ Davis Love III USA Captain

14½ Jose Maria Olazabal Europe Captain

2014 Gleneagles Resort, Perthshire, Scotland

11½ Tom Watson USA Captain

16½ Paul McGinley Europe Captain

2016 Hazeltine National Golf Club, Minnesota

17 Davis Love III USA Captain

11 Darren Clarke Europe Captain 

2018 Le Golf National, Guyancourt, France

10½ Jim Furyk USA Captain

17½ Thomas Bjorn Europe Captain 

Europe Returns

© Copyright 2019